Erratum & Addendum - Reisverslag uit Singapore, Singapore van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu Erratum & Addendum - Reisverslag uit Singapore, Singapore van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu

Erratum & Addendum

Door: Yaisa

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yaisa

09 April 2008 | Singapore, Singapore


Erratum: Morning news, 31 March 2008

So I hear and read about all these riots in London due to the arrival of the Olympic Torch Relay team… ahem… So on top of confusing Tibet with Nepal, did I not write about the Olympic flame arriving in Beijing a couple of blogs ago…? Well, I apologise for this gross mistake, it’s embarrassing. The news item did have something do to with the Olympics, but I can’t for the life of me remember what it was then… I do have several excuses for my mistake: a) I was not hearing the news as I was listening to my MP3 player, b) it was a very early Monday morning (9.15 am or so) and c) my mind was wandering somewhere between the office and the Red Sea…


Addendum: Taxi!, 2 April 2008

Quite coincidentally I just read another blog where Robert de Niro is quoted. He doesn’t get the quote quite right, but it’s (again) a funny one by Chris Skinner. Here it is:
http://www.finextra.com/community/fullblog.aspx?id=1173

Are you chewing my cash?
08/04/2008 08:06:58

It’s a line that may become a classic, in a similar vein to Robert de Niro’s famous Are you looking at me? from the film Taxi Driver.

Are you chewing my cash?

Why would this line be even remotely notable?

Well, there’s a sad little news story on BBC’s website yesterday: Termites feast on trader's money.

This is the story of a Dwarika Prasad, who placed his life savings in a safe deposit box of the Central Bank of India in 2005. Far safer than stuffing the money under the mattress.

That was until the bank had a termite invasion in 2007 and didn’t bother telling their customers what was going on, unless they came into the branch.

So, when Mr. Prasad went to get his fortune back in 2008, all he found was dust and shreds of bits of paper.

The fact that the bank is ignoring his pleas for reimbursement is rather mean, but the lesson must be to put everything on a computer disc. Far safer as you can back it up.

What’s that?

HSBC lost 370,000 customers’ details on a computer disc.

Darnit. I guess you can’t win ‘em all after all then ...

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Singapore, Singapore

Yaisa

wonen, werken, leven, genieten overal en nergens

Actief sinds 14 Nov. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 132
Totaal aantal bezoekers 78838

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Mei 2008 - 16 September 2010

Life Travels II

24 November 2006 - 24 Mei 2008

Life Travels I

17 September 2010 - 30 November -0001

Life Travels III

Landen bezocht: