A few steps down the civilisation ladder! - Reisverslag uit Singapore, Singapore van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu A few steps down the civilisation ladder! - Reisverslag uit Singapore, Singapore van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu

A few steps down the civilisation ladder!

Door: Timmo!!!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yaisa

06 Februari 2007 | Singapore, Singapore

As requested by some of you, this time I am writing an update of our web log. Yaisa has set a high standard, so I'll do my best to entertain you guys! The title of this update clearly does not refer to the Singaporeans, but actually to what I am doing here. More specifically, my contribution to the office culture of ABN AMRO SG. So please bear with me!

Commuting to work part 1 --> The formal part

As Yaisa already mentioned in her previous updates, I cycle and run to work. This is how it works: this morning I ran to work, tonight I cycle home (my bike was already at work), tomorrow morning I cycle to work and tomorrow evening I run home. You got the idea, right? It may sound complicated, but I like it very much. Since we are working long days out here (Marijke, take note!), this is an easy and efficient way to still get my daily amount of sports (a single journey is 11.3km). Each day I run & cycle along the palm tree beach, see the locals swim and do their morning gymnastics, it is really fun and relaxing. I know worse ways to commute to work! However this is not the complete story.........

Commuting to work part 2 --> I know no shame

Since the climate is tropical over here, you can imagine what I look like when I arrive at the office after 1 hour of non-stop running: very very sweaty, exhausted, looking pale and very underdressed (please note that I believe Singaporeans focus more on appearance and status than the average Dutchie). Luckily, there's an executive toilet (with a shower!) on our (22nd) floor and since I believe I am an executive sportsman, I have decided I am entitled to use this shower. However, this means that I do have to take the elevator to the 22nd floor filled with other people that have just prepared themselves for a new day: clean clothes, styled / combed hair and smelling freshly. I on the other hand have covered up with just a dry shirt after running just before entering our posh new state-of-the-art, talk-of-the-town office. However, this shirt is already soaked before I step into the elevator. Basically I am always surprised that the guards do not kick me out!

What about clean clothes? Well, since Yaisa and I work at the same office, I have the luxury that Yaisa can be my courier. I walk down our 'garden office' to my desk where my clothes are, passing all our colleagues and the management team members' rooms (100% glass walls only), pick up my stuff and walk back again, since the shower is on the other side of our floor! Well so much about commuting to work, and I have not even told you half yet!

By the way, while I suffer commuting to work, Yaisa is convinced that my shirts are too much to carry around, so on the days she brings my clothes, she has to take a taxi to work. I just really love our differences! (okay okay, I admit this is not the full story about Yaisa's taxi motivation, but never let the truth stand in the way of a good story, right?).

Food at work - Some observations --> I still know no shame

- The focus on food in the Singaporean culture is huge, the office is packed with food.......
- My focus is on food too, aimed at eating it. Since I have joined, office stocks have gone down drastically (I guess no need to say that running makes you hungry).
- In response to the lower stocks, my two (female) colleagues sitting in front of me have started bringing in all kinds of local delicacies especially to feed me.
- Specific drinks in the vending machine are now regularly sold out (by coincidence always the two types that I drink, I guess no need to say that running makes you thirsty)

Dragon Boat Rowing
Yaisa and I have joined the ABN AMRO Dragon Boat Team! We will now train each Sunday at 16.00 hours on the sea over here. Last Sunday we had our first training and Yaisa did very well. With a lot of spirit (as you can expect from Yaisa) she is one of the better starters. Since the training ended around 18.00 hours, on our way back (cycling!) we had dinner at one of the nice restaurants along the beach. Our aim is to be selected for the race of 15 March and I believe this should be feasible! The Dragon Boat people are very sociable, so for us it is also a good way to meet new colleagues and to build up a social life. For me, it is also fun to do a sport together with Yaisa. So all in all, I am looking forward to making this a fixed element in our weekend, especially the dinner along the beach part.

I have many more stories to tell, but I do not want to swamp you with a very long story, so I'll wrap up for now. Next week we will be flying of to Taiwan to celebrate Chinese New Year with Yaisa's father and Jeannie. We will be spending a few days in Taipei and travel down to Kaohsiung, so a good prospect!

We will keep you posted on our Dragon Boat achievements and all our other activities!

Yaisa and Timmo

  • 06 Februari 2007 - 06:42

    Djin & Theresa :

    Dear Timmo & Yaisa,
    Have a great time in Taiwan. Wishing you a healthy & prosperious Chinese New Year. Greetings to your father & Jeannie.

  • 06 Februari 2007 - 06:47

    Jaspar:

    Thumbs up with the dragon boat race! It is very nice to read about your daily stuff in Asia: your stories encourage my eagerness to go abroad!
    Have a lot of fun coming week!

  • 06 Februari 2007 - 07:52

    Felix:

    The good old Timmo is still alive! Erg gelachen...
    All the best
    Felix

  • 06 Februari 2007 - 09:56

    Katelijne:

    Je doet niet voor Yais onder hoor Timmo! :-). Veel plezier in Taiwan!

  • 06 Februari 2007 - 10:39

    Iris:

    Big smile voor wat betreft het food focus gedeelte, arme office-genoten van Timmo!

    Ik begrijp trouwens dat je nu je eigen feeders hebt? :-)

  • 06 Februari 2007 - 10:48

    Henk:

    Timmo, you have exceeded my expectations once again. This refers not only to the amount of sports and food but also to the length of your story. Good luck with the Dragon Boat selection!

  • 06 Februari 2007 - 13:47

    Luan:

    Mooie verhalen! Lach me gek! En veel plezier in Taiwan!

  • 06 Februari 2007 - 15:57

    Anjo:

    Dragon Boat races op zee; cool!

  • 06 Februari 2007 - 18:03

    Mirjam:

    Ha ha! Ik was een van de "some of you" en ik ben onder de indruk! Erg herkenbaar... Niet dat ik mezelf er in kan herkennen, maar jij lijkt me geen spat veranderd!
    Bovendien had ik je waarschijnlijk uit de lift gekickt en je die 22 verdiepingen ook nog ff laten klimmen!
    Geniet van jullie New Year!
    X Mir

  • 06 Februari 2007 - 22:59

    Freya:

    Ik ben onder de indruk! Wat zijn jullie een goed team, op alle fronten.
    Timmo, toen ik mijn verpleeghulpstage liep, kwam een orthopeed op zijn fietsschoentjes de afdeling op stinken, hij douchte dan in de kleedkamer, ik heb nooit bij hem in de lift gestaan, maar als hij 's morgens vroeg te dicht langs me liep... kon ik echt wel over m'n nek... en het was nog wel een lekker ding (net als jij!)
    RESPECT!
    kus freya

  • 07 Februari 2007 - 09:47

    Siem:

    "In het vele zweet Uw's aanschijns zult Gij Uw brood verdienen !" En daarna lekker vertroeteld worden door die twee tegenover je....

  • 07 Maart 2007 - 23:56

    Mama:

    ah, nu lees ik dit pas 7 maart, wat de dragon boat is, nou succes hoor!
    timmo, zou een elegant badjas in de lift een goed idee zijn?

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Singapore, Singapore

Yaisa

wonen, werken, leven, genieten overal en nergens

Actief sinds 14 Nov. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 66
Totaal aantal bezoekers 78881

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Mei 2008 - 16 September 2010

Life Travels II

24 November 2006 - 24 Mei 2008

Life Travels I

17 September 2010 - 30 November -0001

Life Travels III

Landen bezocht: