OWSI!!!! - Reisverslag uit El Gouna, Egypte van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu OWSI!!!! - Reisverslag uit El Gouna, Egypte van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu

OWSI!!!!

Door: Yaisa

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yaisa

15 Juni 2009 | Egypte, El Gouna


No, it's not the Egyptian divers yell... And it's not a scary disease... And it's not a banking abbreviation either... But yes, in the diving business we use abbreviations too and this one is the newest addition to my resume: Open Water Scuba Instructor. I made it!!!!

On 4 June, the IDC (Instructor Development Course) started and I had a blast of a time with Oscar, my CD (Course Director, Italian), Marco (IDC Staff Instructor, Italian) and Ola (no, not the icecream, but a Swedish IDC Staff Instructor). I was the only candidate this month with Oscar, which meant that I had three men fussing over me for nine days, teaching me how to do things but mainly how to not do things under water with student divers. I also sat through many presentations, during which I was brainwashed into the PADI system and I learned how to teach students about dive theory & how to tie knots under water, I learned how to sell the next course while they haven't even finished the first one and I learned how to make my future student divers aware of the fragility of our marine environment. And since I was the only candidate and therefore the only one who needed to practice and demonstrate, it all went at my pace and we went through the material rather quickly. Taking advantage of this spare time, we also did the Emergency First Response Instructor Course (Me to a mannequin lying on the floor: Hi, my name is Yaisa, I'm an Emergency First Responder, Can I Help you?) and the Nitrox Instructor's Course.

And then, Saturday 13 June was the big day: the start of the IE (Instructor's Examination. Banking, Diving... it's all the same shit, too many abbreviations). Now I must admit, I was pretty damn nervous. Not so much for the written examination part, but I was really afraid I was going to cock up in the water. On many occasions during the IDC, Oscar, Marco & Ola role played as students in the pool, making all sorts of tricky mistakes that I was supposed to notice & correct. And let me tell you, that it was not always the case. But in the end, on Sunday afternoon 14 June at 4 pm, it was all over. I hadn't killed any of my "students", for 9 out of the 10 skills I had to do/demonstrate in the water I got the highest score possible, I had 4 mistakes out of 110 multiple choice questions in the theory and I although I completely f***cked up the rescue scenario, I managed to do it perfectly fine on the make-up. Out of the 43 candidates, 40% had to be dissappointed by the examinors. But after two days of examinations, presentations, demonstrations, pool sessions, rescue sessions and open water skills, I was handed over a Certificate of Completion of the IE. In terms of promotions, this just might be the one I am most proud of. So now I'm qualified to teach Open Water, Advanced Open Water, Rescue, Divemaster, Nitrox and EFR. Any takers???? :-)

Needless to say we had a little party at the Clubhouse that evening (I'm still baring the consequences of that) and for the next few days I'm going to do nothing but relax. A BBQ party in our garden tomorrow and maybe do some domestic chores, just to make Stefano believe I'm not totally useless in the house. During the entire IDC, he was cooking for me in the evenings, making coffee & taking me to the Clubhouse in the morning (the IDC was taking place in the classrooms there), picking me up at the end of the day, doing the laundry, cleaning the house and even better, he was the "student" on which I practised all my presentations and briefings. He - instructor for more than a decade - sat through endless explanations of what buoyancy is, how to remove a mask under water and why you shouldn't ascent too fast. Very patient man...

So I had three guys all for myself during the day and another one taking total care of me in the evening and at night. Did I mention I had a blast of a time during the IDC?

The rest of the month it's a coming and going of friends at our place and at Darja & Ivan's place, so no time to get bored. Today I was modelling for a foto shoot Ivan had to do at a spa (I'm getting paid in kind, free spa treatments worth hundreds of euro's, yeeehah!!). I may go camping/diving in Quseir for a few days with a friend. And then I'll start working for TGI again... Who will be my first student I wonder???

Two years ago I became Vice President for a Dutch bank in Asia. Now I'm a Scuba Instructor in Egypt. Life is great.

xxx

Yaisa

PS. Here some pictures of the trip we made to Lake Nasser & Abu Simbel end of May.
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=113199&id=523210814&l=4c86b22de7

  • 15 Juni 2009 - 15:56

    Anjo:

    gefeliciteerd met je driedubbele kwalificatie!

    !$#$@%$%$#ToetToet()^*&^*&^
    (=party-toeter)

  • 15 Juni 2009 - 16:03

    SKO:

    Congrats girly ... was wondering why we hadn't heard from you. Though must admit not surprised that you did so well.

    Looking forward to the next time we G&T/OJ & campari ;)
    S

  • 15 Juni 2009 - 16:08

    Big Brother:

    Hey, I didn't see "possible refreshment course for 1st degree family members" on your list ;-) Congrats, sis!

  • 15 Juni 2009 - 16:31

    Mama:

    tja wat moet ik nog toevoegen, dat ik een intelligente dochter heb gecreerd wist ik al, maar dat ze ook nog in 11 dagen haar OWSI kan halen dat slaat alle superlatieven !
    dus super gefeliciteerd en veel studenten gewenst, tot plotseling!

  • 15 Juni 2009 - 16:35

    Bojana:

    Hey Yaisa, congrats!

  • 15 Juni 2009 - 17:35

    Mama:

    wait a minute, I forgot something important, great thanks to Stefano who took care of the cooking and the cleaning, to allow you every minute you needed for your exams, big job Stefano! and big hug too.

  • 15 Juni 2009 - 18:22

    Mir:

    PROFICIAT!!! Hoop dat diezelfde bank mij nog wat vakantie gunt in de tweede helft van het jaar. Dan kom ik zeker bij je lessen;)
    XM

  • 15 Juni 2009 - 20:04

    TT:

    Gefeciteerd Yais !!! Well done !
    Hoop dat je veel studenten krijgt !

  • 15 Juni 2009 - 20:55

    Peter-Paul/Marianne:

    Wie had dat indertijd toch allemaal gedacht van je
    Gefeliciteerd

  • 16 Juni 2009 - 03:00

    Arlette:

    Congratulations Yais, well done!!!! Getting my Instructor's certificate is still on my list of things to do but whether it 'll still happen...?! First the kid! 3 1/2 weeks now and counting... ;-)
    XXX

  • 16 Juni 2009 - 06:45

    Ger:

    Nu moeten we wel jouw kant op komen! Je eerste studenten zullen we niet worden, maar ergens begin volgend jaar? Teminste, dat is als jij er dan ook bent, miss globetrotter.

  • 16 Juni 2009 - 09:43

    Katelijne:

    Gefeliciteerd!

    x

  • 16 Juni 2009 - 11:20

    Liselotte:

    Yaisa, goed gedaan!!!!!

  • 17 Juni 2009 - 07:57

    Wim:

    Goed gedaan! Next time Egypt or Oz? Aftellen is begonnen.

    Kus wim

  • 20 Juni 2009 - 10:53

    Bob:

    Gefeliciteerd met het behalen van je diploma! Lijkt me wel wat om weer wat duikzaken op te frissen onder jouw hoede ;-)

    veel plezier daar,

    Groet Bob

  • 22 Juni 2009 - 10:36

    Sandra:

    hey yais,gefeliciteerd! goed man, wie weet kom ik nog s een sprong in het diepe wagen bij je in egypt! x san

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Egypte, El Gouna

Yaisa

wonen, werken, leven, genieten overal en nergens

Actief sinds 14 Nov. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 145
Totaal aantal bezoekers 78826

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Mei 2008 - 16 September 2010

Life Travels II

24 November 2006 - 24 Mei 2008

Life Travels I

17 September 2010 - 30 November -0001

Life Travels III

Landen bezocht: