Hello 2009! - Reisverslag uit El Gouna, Egypte van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu Hello 2009! - Reisverslag uit El Gouna, Egypte van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu

Hello 2009!

Door: Yaisa

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yaisa

24 December 2008 | Egypte, El Gouna

Remember my 2008 New Year resolutions?

(Let the sun shine, 19 december 2007)
“And as we move into 2008, I have a few resolutions; one is to restore my balance and go full steam ahead, strong, positive, independent and happy. Two is to share my happiness with all those around me, be there for those who need support, enjoy the good times with those who have some to share with me… Three is to keep my door open to all my friends and family, meaning the front door of my new apartment in Singapore, as well as the door to my heart. And four is to let the sun shine, every day.”

Evaluation:
One: Done, completely, totally, entirely, more & faster than expected!
Two: You tell me!
Three: Door’s been open and the guest room has been well used! Ah, and my heart... :-)
Four: Thank you Egypt!

And remember my New Life’s resolutions?

(RTFM*, 20 July 2008 )
“Anyway, here are a few “New Life’s” resolutions I will strive to accomplish during my stay in El Gouna:
- learn how to speak Italian (I discovered I already understand 80%!)
- learn how to communicate with the boat crew in Arabic. So far the extent of my vocab is: hello, thank you, good, no good, slowly, enough and inshallah, and that’s of course not enough
- keep hydrating my face, body and hair with an obscene amount of expensive creams, sun protection, conditioner, masks, scrubs, etc... because I think mummies are cool but not when I see them in the mirror
- keep doing yoga (new classes starting in August, jippieee!)
- never take the ferry from Hurghada to Sharm
- and become a hell of a divemaster.”

Evaluation:
- Italian: hmmm, slow progress... needs further improvement
- Arabic: no comment
- body hydration: on track
- yoga: on track
- ferry to Sharm: managed
- divemaster: I'm having a lot of fun, does that make me a good divemaster? :-)

2008 was a fantastic year, one I will forever remember and tell all my grand-children about when I want to teach them about life (if I ever have children who have children of their own, that is...) because I:
... discovered that ‘diving’ beats ‘desk job’, ‘sun & sea’ beats ‘banks & budgets’ and ‘no plans’ beats ‘planning life according to expectations’
... travelled in 12 countries, discovered beautiful places and had fun everywhere
... made many new friends and found many old ones too
... recovered from an emotional roller coaster and came out stronger, wiser and with a big smile on my face
... got to know someone who makes my smile even broader just thinking about him
... my oldest friend is now sort of my sister-in-law
... my little brother is doing fabulously well in love & life
... lived in 2 countries, but no matter where I live, I always have friends crazy enough to come and visit me for some adventures
... managed to slim down to the size I had when I was 18 years old
... stored all my belongings away in boxes and haven’t missed anything since (except for my books)
... found out that if you live your dreams, you still have plenty of dreams to look forward to!

Concluding 2008, I can look back upon a wonderful year, better than I dreamed of, and I have many friends and family members to thank for that. So thank you :-)

Now 2009 will be a fantastic year too of course (give me one reason why not?) and as tradition requires, I have a few resolutions:
... become a hell of a diving instructor
... dive in as many amazing places as I can and extend the list of ‘countries I’ve visited’
... manage my finances so that I can keep living this life for as long as I enjoy it
... really learn Italian
... continue to do yoga and regain the flexibility I had when I was 14
... try to remember the names of all your newborn babies. Sorry people, I can’t for the life of me recall all the names of your little ones, there are just too many!

Dear friends, keep having babies, keep loving, be loved, travel, discover, drink, eat, listen, learn, live, laugh, breath, dive, fly, run, shop, work, dance, sleep... Do whatever makes you happy, you will never regret it.

Big Christmassy hug to all and wishing you a splashing 2009!

xYx

  • 24 December 2008 - 09:36

    Anjo:

    Mooie resolutions!

    Ben op zoek gegaan naar een Yaisa-like nieuwjaarsboodschap voor je:
    laat de vlammen je voeden in 2009!

    (vrije vertaling v. 'Alere flammas', Ovidius)

  • 24 December 2008 - 09:59

    Walter:

    Yaisa,

    Sounds good! Again :-)

    Happy holidays!

  • 24 December 2008 - 11:54

    Linda:

    Hi Yaisa,

    Je weet waarschijnlijk niet dat ook ik je berichtjes lees, maar geniet elke keer weer van je verhalen...

    Cheers, Linda (ABN AMRO, S'pore, Dec '07, Linda.Lagarde@unilever.com)

  • 24 December 2008 - 14:12

    Mir:

    Wat een happy life!! Big X-Mas & New Years hug back to you! Cu in februari!
    XM

  • 24 December 2008 - 16:53

    Mama:

    als je in de toekomst kon kijken....nee toch maar niet, het nu is wat telt, geniet van elk moment en je zult altijd gelukkig zijn.
    houwen zo!

  • 24 December 2008 - 23:44

    TT:

    Que Sera, Sera........
    Have nice holidays and a very good lucky and healthy 2009 !!!
    Enjoy every minute, everything you have learned now, bring it in practice in your daily life and keep enjoying !!!

  • 25 December 2008 - 10:52

    SKO:

    I refuse to have children for you and i am not sure listening is in the fundamental handbook that came with me at birth but otherwise all good. Has been an absolute pleasure to really get to know you this year and be apart of living the new life and new years resolutions...i look forward to many more adventures ... the theme next year being snow ... BRING ON THE SNOW... and white wines shared - your bedroom in A'dam is forever there... as long as i am.

  • 26 December 2008 - 16:14

    Peter En Margot:

    Hoop dat al je wensen en voornemens voor 2009 uitkomen! Blijf van het leven genieten zoals je nu doet...
    Wij vieren de jaarwisseling dit keer in Singapore maar wensen je nu vast vanuit Jakarta een heel gelukkig 2009 toe.

  • 27 December 2008 - 08:44

    Katelijne:

    Lieve Yais,

    Het is je meer dan gegund! Geniet van het leven en de liefde! Alvast een geweldig 2009 toegewenst!

    x

  • 28 December 2008 - 16:07

    Big Brother:

    Hi baby sis,

    Let's make a promise never to live in the same city at the same time and keep on visiting each other. One of my resolutions is to show you my world and see yours!

    Have fun with your trips and see you soon.

    All the best for 2009!!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Egypte, El Gouna

Yaisa

wonen, werken, leven, genieten overal en nergens

Actief sinds 14 Nov. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 119
Totaal aantal bezoekers 78849

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Mei 2008 - 16 September 2010

Life Travels II

24 November 2006 - 24 Mei 2008

Life Travels I

17 September 2010 - 30 November -0001

Life Travels III

Landen bezocht: