Ya mon - Reisverslag uit Treasure Beach, Jamaica van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu Ya mon - Reisverslag uit Treasure Beach, Jamaica van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu

Ya mon

Door: Yaisa

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yaisa

09 Juni 2008 | Jamaica, Treasure Beach

Last night I arrived in Kingston and this morning I decided to leave that city asap. So I took a taxi to the bus station and got on a bus to high-tail it to the most remote place of Jamaica "about as far as you can get from packaged resorts" the LP Bible said.

Sadly, 2 hours later I hadn't budged an inch... the bus was still waiting for more passengers and it could easily fit 5 more big mama's, so by the time the bus left, I was squeezed against the window and there were about 40 people in a 25 seater minibus... Gosh, I missed backpacking...

But another bus and a route taxi later, I find myself in a village with about 10 foreigners, moi included.

When I got here, my hair looked like a hurricane had just blown over the island, I was sticky all over and my bum ached from the potholed roads...

But I collected many compliments along the way, ranging from how brave I was to travel alone to how small and neat my body looked (not a big accomplishment next to the average Jamaican woman) and a little girl telling me she really liked my hair... And I made new friends who all want me to come and visit them on my next trip to Jamaica (all men of course).

Tomorrow I'm going on a boating trip with captain Ted...

Honestly, who would want to trade this for an all-inclusive resort?

Haven't found any WENDY tattoos yet, but not looking for them, really... :-)

xYx

  • 10 Juni 2008 - 08:42

    Mama:

    hè gelukkig al vast de vlucht naar Jamaica overleefd en de bustrip ook!misschien zijn die vlechtjes met kraaltje a/h eind wel iets voor je haar? wees altijd op je hoede!

  • 11 Juni 2008 - 07:30

    Eric Tan:

    Mate, you got that right. Those big Mamas' might be after you for some look good formula. You are as free as a bird and sometimes I wish I could venture an experience like that. Take care and enjoy the sunshine. eric

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Jamaica, Treasure Beach

Yaisa

wonen, werken, leven, genieten overal en nergens

Actief sinds 14 Nov. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 102
Totaal aantal bezoekers 78863

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Mei 2008 - 16 September 2010

Life Travels II

24 November 2006 - 24 Mei 2008

Life Travels I

17 September 2010 - 30 November -0001

Life Travels III

Landen bezocht: