Back in Bali! - Reisverslag uit Batavia, Indonesië van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu Back in Bali! - Reisverslag uit Batavia, Indonesië van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu

Back in Bali!

Door: Yaisa

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yaisa

13 Juni 2012 | Indonesië, Batavia

The paddy fields in front of our lovely homestay are burning and the wind-blown smoke covers the green palm trees and the blue sky with a passing layer of mysticism. The sun in on its way down and it’s quiet, compared to other times of the day. The daily concert of nature starts around 5 am, with the roosters waking up the world, followed by the ducks who arrive at 6 am and are busy all day quacking and waddling through the recently harvested rice fields - the ones that have not been set on fire, mind you, other wise we would have lots of yummie smoked duck up for grabs. Once the sun has set, it’s time for hundreds of crickets to start playing the violin and as the night settles in, dozens of frogs join the performance. It’s sometimes unbelievably loud but I can’t think of a more peaceful surrounding.

It is no punishment to spend a day “at home” sitting on the veranda, eating mangosteens, absorbing the warmth of the Balinese sun, enjoying the company of dear friends and relaxing my muscles from a very painful resumption of a daily yoga routine. We’re back in Bali and loving it.

It’s exactly what I needed after six months of stress in the Maldives, two days of pigging out in Singapore and 12 days of non-stop diving in Sulawesi. Ubud simply makes me want to eat healthy, do yoga, relax and de-stress. There is simply no better cure for me, no environment that motivates me better than this little town crawling with both yoga & health fanatics and day-trippers. Despite the buzzing streets, the perilous traffic and temptations in the form of Babi Guling, Balinese duck, cocktails, beers and other delights, I actually feel a peaceful balance being restored in my mind and body. And that after three days already!

When we arrived here and re-grouped with Darja, I was still processing the fantastic diving of Lembeh and Bunaken. For those of you who have not seen the pictures I posted on Facebook but are interested in my attempts at under water macro photography, feel free to click on the links at the bottom of this blog. The two days in Singapore were not only meant for stuffing ourselves with the best foods in the world, but also to buy a new camera and housing and I must say that I am quite pleased with my new acquisition. Not that my pictures are anywhere near professional quality, but with my little Canon Powershot S100, Ikelite housing, INON D2000 strobe and some Lightroom editing skills, I managed to produce a few flashy photographs of some colourful critters and miniscule nudies. Now let’s just hope I don’t drown the damn thing anytime in the near future. :-)

We spent the time in Lembeh and Manado with the same guys we have been on diving holidays with for the past two years and these yearly reunions are always very enjoyable times. All of us being hard-core globetrotters, it amazes me that we manage each year to assemble in yet another beautiful corner of the world with a splendid under water garden. It’s a tradition I hope we will be able to keep up for the years to come.

The last day on Sulawesi was a desaturation day – so instead of diving down, we headed up the volcano and visited some of the local spots of interest, such as a perfectly manicured botanic garden. Taking into consideration that some of you may be committed animal lovers or cannot stand the sight of blood, I have chosen not to post any gruesome images of the market where they sell dog, bat, snake, rat and all their innards. So those of you who fall in one or both of the above-mentioned categories, can safely click on the picture link. I must admit that even for me, crazy chick who will eat anything and is not a flexitarian for any animal loving reasons, the dog thing was a bit bleh…. I shall spare my wider audience the gory details, but should you want to know more, just let me know and I’ll PM you the visuals with description… :)>

Today was a perfect Yaisa day. Stefano, Ivan and Darja went diving, in search of the Mola Mola (sunfish/moon fish) but I decided to be a good girl, not miss my morning practice and hence I had the whole day to myself. Time to sort out my financial situation (a.k.a. how long can I afford this amazing life style without killing all my savings), write a few long overdue emails, update my blog and relax from the first three dreaded days of renewed yoga practice.

I know the world keeps on turning out there, in a European Championship frenzy spiced up with continuous violence in the Middle-East, earthquakes in Italy and Facebook IPO scandals, but I like this little veranda, with its view over the burning rice fields, its symphony of tjirps and quacks and the sun, slowing setting to make way for yet another perfect night in Bali.

Ah, the divers are back, no Mola Mola… :-(

Time for dinner! :-)

Lots of hugs,

Yaisa

Singapore Food Saga:
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151001375950815.485478.523210814&type=3&l=d11e5ad915

Critter hunt:
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151009453600815.486554.523210814&type=3&l=64c733afb7

Critter hunt continued:
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151016326000815.487294.523210814&type=3&l=ece6409f92

Resorts, Lembeh & Manado:
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151031331740815.488850.523210814&type=3&l=ca1a31fa09

Land tour, North Sulawesi:
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151035590005815.489314.523210814&type=3&l=61ba32243e

  • 13 Juni 2012 - 10:37

    Mama:

    superissimo! ik geniet met je mee!

  • 13 Juni 2012 - 11:15

    Big Brother:

    Neem het ervan, je hebt het verdiend!!

  • 13 Juni 2012 - 13:45

    Anjo:

    Aaaaaah Ubud!
    Enjoy!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Indonesië, Batavia

Life Travels III

About diving, yoga and travelling...

Recente Reisverslagen:

06 November 2012

whereisyaisanow.com

05 September 2012

Blog, Blogger, Bloggest!

14 Juli 2012

The sounds of Ubud

19 Juni 2012

New Moon

13 Juni 2012

Back in Bali!
Yaisa

wonen, werken, leven, genieten overal en nergens

Actief sinds 14 Nov. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 417
Totaal aantal bezoekers 78683

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Mei 2008 - 16 September 2010

Life Travels II

24 November 2006 - 24 Mei 2008

Life Travels I

17 September 2010 - 30 November -0001

Life Travels III

Landen bezocht: