Today's check list - Reisverslag uit El Gouna, Egypte van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu Today's check list - Reisverslag uit El Gouna, Egypte van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu

Today's check list

Door: Yaisa

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yaisa

30 November 2011 | Egypte, El Gouna

Today is the first day in weeks that I don’t have to do anything. I don’t have to work (as in jump around on a huge inflatable water park or dive into the freezing Red Sea – currently at 21 degrees), I don’t have to get up at 7.00 am to drink a herbal clay mix to help clean my bowels, the house was empty when I woke up (mom went back to Holland yesterday, Stefano is over 5.000 km from here and Ivan had gone to work by the time I got up) so I don’t have to talk to anybody. Basically, it’s me, myself and my own good intentions.

And since I learned a few months ago that I’m not good at doing nothing, I have made a mental to-do list (being written as we speak) to keep myself busy:

Do some yoga. Check. I was on the mat at 10.30 am, by the lagoon in the warm winter sun. Slowly getting back into my Ashtanga practice. Back hurts. Twisting is a challenge. Practice, practice, practice and All is coming. Keep breathing…

Do some online research about back pain. Check. Why? Because I still have not recovered fully from my miserable effort to do a back flip on a trampoline and I now finally start to understand how people with chronic back pain feel. And since I will never resort to conventional painkillers and my situation is definitely not bad enough to warrant any kind of surgical intervention or expensive therapies, I thought I’d do some online searching for home remedies.

Continue to not smoke. Check. No further comment.

Do the dishes. Check. Now that Stefano is gone, Ivan and I compete for the Laziest Housekeeper in the World Award (of the millennium). But I’m going to make Stefano proud and loose the contest.

Do the laundry. Not yet checked. Now that Stefano is gone, Ivan and I compete for the Laziest Housekeeper in the World Award (of the millennium). I may win.

Take a shower. Not yet checked. Yes, that would be the accomplishment of the day. Yesterday, they fixed the plumbing and the boiler, so I’m kind of nervous to go into the shower. In most countries, you would be thankful after they fix your appliances, but here, so I’ve experienced, they usually make things worse the first time round and then need several attempts at repairing, replacing and refurbishing before the situation is back to normal (i.e. malfunctioning like before they started working on it). So I’m a bit scared that I’ll get boiling hot spurts of steam coming out of the shower once I turn on the warm water tap. If you don’t hear from me shortly, you can send me a “Get Well Soon card” at the 3rd Degree Burns Department, El Gouna Hospital, Red Sea, Egypt. Very kind, thank you.

Start organizing my luggage. Not yet checked. No idea when I’ll be going to the Maldives, but you can bet your ass I’m going! I’ve got a formal offer to become the Base Manager of the Diving and Aquasports Centre of a new super high end fancy shmancy resort in Baa Atoll, but the contract and the work permit are still work in progress. I’m waiting for the “all clear” from my employer to book the ticket and whiz over to my new job and my beloved who is already on the Island. Since things can suddenly move quickly, I’ve got to make sure I’m packed and ready to go at a moments notice.

Write a new blog. Almost checked. Objective: increase my chances of winning the Laziest Housekeeper Award, procrastinate getting scalded and blistered by the shower and delay sorting out my clothes and meager possessions for storage or transport.

Hey, look at that, it’s lunch time! Another valid excuse to postpone this and that…

Love

Yaisa

PS. This is what I found on DIY Do’s and Don’ts for back pain

1) Drink water!
Dehydration is bad for your body, in general most of us need to drink more water. The discs between the vertebrae of our spine need to be nourished and kept hydrated.

2) Don’t smoke!
If you smoke you probably don't want to hear this but studies show that there is a direct relationship between smoking cigarettes and having back problems. Smoking slows down your circulation and cuts down the oxygen supply in your bloodstream. Adequate blood flow and oxygen supply are needed for good health and for proper healing to occur.

3) Eat healthy!
Red meat can aggravate or cause chronic back pain. Uric acid contained in red meat can cause joint inflammation. Vegetables such as potatoes, soy beans and other legumes, and cold-water fish should replace animal meat as the main source of protein. Nuts and seeds are another excellent source of protein and provide other significant health benefits. Almonds, walnuts and peanuts are particularly beneficial, due to their high magnesium content. Magnesium is not only a constituent of bone and cartilage, but also maintains muscle tone. Chronic back pain is often a symptom of poor abdominal muscle tone. The diet should include a wide variety of raw vegetables and fruits, and wholegrain cereals to provide the nutrients needed for the maintenance of bones, nerves and muscles, all of which contribute to a strong and supple back. Eat oatmeal, porridge or a Swiss muesli made with soaked oats every morning. These foods are excellent sources of silica, which is particularly important for building strong bones, and B vitamins, which support muscle and nerve health. Chronic muscle pain can also be a symptom of vitamin D deficiency. Vitamin D is found in fish with small bones, fortified milk and cereal, and exposure to sunlight.

4) Yoga for Back Pain
Yoga creates balance in the body through various poses that develop flexibility and strength. Practice poses (asanas) that do not strain the muscles and are beneficial for the back. Studies show that yoga practice results in a faster recovery than conventional exercises.

5) Breathing Techniques
Breathing techniques that make use of the mind-body connection have been found to reduce pain. These techniques integrate body awareness, breathing, movement, and meditation. What's great about breathing techniques is that you can do them yourself at home at no cost. One study compared 6-8 weeks (12 sessions) of breath therapy to physical therapy. Patients improved significantly with breath therapy. Changes in standard low back pain measures of pain and disability were comparable to those resulting from high quality, extended physical therapy.

6) Massage
When many people have back aches and pain, the first thing they think of is massage. Studies have found that massage may be effective for subacute and chronic pain. It has also been found to reduce anxiety and depression associated with chronic pain. In other words, get your boyfriend, girlfriend, wife, husband, eldest daughter, mother, best friend, to give you lots and lots of massages!!!!

Sources:
http://altmedicine.about.com/od/chronicpain/a/back_pain.htm
http://www.backpainsucks.com/nutrition.html
http://www.holisticonline.com/remedies/backpain/back_nutritional_therapies.htm


  • 30 November 2011 - 12:28

    TT:

    There is a book about Back Pain with exercises Yaisa. Check www.ymaa.com.
    You have a book and a DVD you might get it. It is very good. Mine are sold out. It helped me before. To understand back pain and deal with it. I can recommend you the book and DVD. Good luck!
    Check my FB, lots of movements and explanations about Qigong. Yoga is the mother of Qigong. But certain Yoga movements, if you don't do it right, it back fires your health.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Egypte, El Gouna

Life Travels III

About diving, yoga and travelling...

Recente Reisverslagen:

06 November 2012

whereisyaisanow.com

05 September 2012

Blog, Blogger, Bloggest!

14 Juli 2012

The sounds of Ubud

19 Juni 2012

New Moon

13 Juni 2012

Back in Bali!
Yaisa

wonen, werken, leven, genieten overal en nergens

Actief sinds 14 Nov. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 4680
Totaal aantal bezoekers 78632

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Mei 2008 - 16 September 2010

Life Travels II

24 November 2006 - 24 Mei 2008

Life Travels I

17 September 2010 - 30 November -0001

Life Travels III

Landen bezocht: