Headlines - Reisverslag uit Batavia, Indonesië van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu Headlines - Reisverslag uit Batavia, Indonesië van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu

Headlines

Door: Yaisa

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yaisa

03 Juli 2011 | Indonesië, Batavia

It’s funny when you haven’t followed the news for a while (as in months) and then one day decide to browse the online (Dutch & international) news.

Some headlines make you wonder whether things will every change. I quote: “UN: 170 raped during attacks in Congo” or “ Bicycle bom kills six in Kunduz”. You read them and you really never want to go back to the real world, where ever that is.

Other headlines definitely deserve being called headlines, but one needs to be in the right frame of mind to read the article, like “Rwanda minister first woman ever convicted for genocide” or “Are biofuels the future of flights?”. Maybe change is possible after all?

And then there are the odd ones that actually draw your attention and make you open the article: “Permission to send surviving geese to the gas chamber” or “Professor urges black women to marry white men”. Excuse me?

I have been so detached from all news and worldly affairs, that many headlines seem strangely out of context and or just plain weird or funny.

Just the other day, Darja was reading out loud another headline “Saab unable to pay salaries”. My immediate question was “Sa-ab? Who is that”, thinking it was perhaps an Egyptian acquaintance who had some trouble running his business since the revolution in Egypt”. (Yes, even though I’ve not been on top of the news lately, I did hear about the happenings in Egypt and the Middle East).

I haven’t decided yet whether my detachment is a good or bad thing. The other day, all I worried about was whether I was going to have a soft or a hard massage and which one would be better for my sore muscles. Today, all I had to decide was at what time I was going to have my waxing appointment tomorrow...

It’s nice not to worry about anything else but yourself. For a while at least.

So that’s what I’m doing here, in Bali.

Thinking about me, only me, my health, my well-being, my future and all that in the ultimate chilling environment.

Well, that is once I got through the physical and painful consequences of starting yoga practice again after months of neglect.

Darja and I have committed to two weeks of daily practice at the Ashtanga school in Ubud, which means a good one and a half hour session of yoga at 8.00 am every morning (except Saturdays). And then every other day or so, we take another class at the Yoga Barn, to enjoy other styles of yoga too, and to make the most out of our stay here in Bali.

The two weeks we spent in Goa at the beginning of the year did me so much good, that I was immensely looking forward to another break like that. Liters of healthy fruit juices, lots of fruit & veggies and no meat, little alcohol, time for massages and pampering and as much yoga as our bodies can handle.

And that’s indeed all we’ve been doing since we got here.

I have just discovered the term “Conscious Flexitarian”. It was probably a hype a while ago already, but since I don’t read the news… On the Internet I found the following definition: "a Vegetarian who occasionally eats meat." I like it. I think I’m going to categorise myself as an occasional Flexitarian for the moment, meaning I consider myself a non-Vegetarian who occasionally, but consciously, does not eat meat. Perhaps one day I’ll become a real Flexitarian. Small steps at the time works for me, (almost) former carnivore…

Another interesting subject we talk a lot about here is Detoxing and Alternative Medicine. Fruit juice treatments, colonics, raw food diets, Ayurveda, you name it. Things that you knew already but chose to ignore because of social pressure become so clear when you actually listen to your body! Who in his right mind, takes so called medicines and other drugs voluntarily if there are remedies and treatments available that damage nothing in your body and actually cure you, rather than kill you slowly? Does the Western world really think all can be cured with antibiotics, cortisone and Prozac? Why do insurance companies pay for your chemotherapy but do not refund your detox treatment?

No, I’m done with it.

From now on, I’m going to do yoga EVERYDAY, ONLY eat healthy meals, NEVER smoke anymore, REFUSE any kind of drugs they call medication and stay young and beautiful FOREVER.

Ha!

Good intentions are a good start, don’t you think?

Hugs from Bali

Yaisa


  • 03 Juli 2011 - 16:45

    Jose:

    You rock... in a chair! :-)

  • 03 Juli 2011 - 17:59

    Mir:

    Have you shaved your head and are you wearing a pink outfit by now? Can't wait to see you again!

  • 04 Juli 2011 - 12:29

    Mama:

    ha eindelijk gaat je blog open, en die laatste regel had ik niet willen missen :

    nu ga je echt op je moeder lijken !!

    gelukkig maar , tot bijna, in Spain, but not in the rain.

  • 04 Juli 2011 - 21:41

    TT:

    Well done!!!

  • 07 Juli 2011 - 16:16

    Swan&Paul:

    Hai Yaisa,heerlijk relaxen in Bali!knap van je om "gezond leven"te kiezen!blijf volhouden!we proberen het ook,helaas niet streng genoeg.

  • 31 Juli 2011 - 11:25

    Viola:

    Hartelijk bedankt voor je uitgebreide bericht. Hier valt alleen maar regen en is het slecht weer.

    Groetjes vanuit het regenachtige Nederland.

    Gr Viola

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Indonesië, Batavia

Life Travels III

About diving, yoga and travelling...

Recente Reisverslagen:

06 November 2012

whereisyaisanow.com

05 September 2012

Blog, Blogger, Bloggest!

14 Juli 2012

The sounds of Ubud

19 Juni 2012

New Moon

13 Juni 2012

Back in Bali!
Yaisa

wonen, werken, leven, genieten overal en nergens

Actief sinds 14 Nov. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 175
Totaal aantal bezoekers 78594

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Mei 2008 - 16 September 2010

Life Travels II

24 November 2006 - 24 Mei 2008

Life Travels I

17 September 2010 - 30 November -0001

Life Travels III

Landen bezocht: