About food, muck and Macs - Reisverslag uit Singapore, Singapore van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu About food, muck and Macs - Reisverslag uit Singapore, Singapore van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu

About food, muck and Macs

Door: Yaisa

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yaisa

20 Juni 2011 | Singapore, Singapore

I should be in bed. It’s 2.15 am, I’ve just uploaded dozens of pictures on Facebook, edited with my new Lightroom software on my new MacBook Pro and I’m just looking for another excuse to keep playing with my new toy. Writing a new blog sounds like a legitimate one. After all, it’s been more than two months ago since I posted the last update.

Shall we do a quick rewind?

Tonight was my last dinner in Singapore, after a stay of four days in my former hometown. Even though I don’t live here anymore, it still feels like home, not in the least thanks to Erik & Dannie who gave me shelter and food all throughout my stay. Four days is not long enough for me to do everything I would like to do while in Singapore. But I managed to squeeze in lots of food, visit a few old friends and their kids and I spent many hours in the computer shops in Sim Lim trying to find the best deal for my new computer, after which I proceeded to spend many hours behind my new gadget. I cleaned up my old one (I was strangely attached to it, I must admit) and found a new owner for it. Sometimes you just have to let go of things…

Pics of Singapore:
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150287277895815.381046.523210814&l=b313b7d58a

Before arriving in Singapore, we stuffed our faces in Kaohsiung, Taiwan. After two and a half years together, I thought it was time for Stefano to meet my dad so off we went to Taiwan. We ate Tainan noodles, fried rice, sushi, tea pearls, smoked chicken, Szechuan pork, garlic veggies, pepper shrimps, pig ears, century eggs, ba paos, raw garlic, Italian pasta, huge snails, seaweed and much much more… Dad and Jeannie drove us around for a week, spoiled and pampered us and then dropped us of at the station of the super fancy High Speed Rail for the train to the Taipei airport. It was a good week.

Pics of Taiwan:
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150287269435815.381040.523210814&l=c674f6fff2

Taiwan was preceded by fun diving in the Philippines with the same buddies we went to Bali with last year. This time, we chose to stay at the same dive resort for two weeks instead of traveling around, because the diving was fantastic, the resort was very nice and none of us felt like dragging around diving & photography equipment from bungalow to bungalow. Planet Dive in Anilao was indeed fantastic and I can highly recommend it to anyone who likes muck diving, a laid back environment and cute dogs (although Jango will probably not be a cute puppy for much longer). Don’t go there if a) you get nightmares from insects such as ants, mosquitos, giant spiders and centipedes, b) you think nudibranchs, seahorses, rinophias, frogfish and mandarin fish are boring c) you’re too unfit to walk up and down steep stairs all day long and, d) you can’t stand cold showers. Other than that, GO GO GO!

Underwater pics of Anilao:
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150269118360815.375016.523210814&l=32c0abc236

We ended the season in the Maldives extremely tired. It was a long long season, from the 25th of September until the 23rd of May, eight months of hard work, with only four weeks off. But we had wonderful times, met very nice people and did fantastic dives. I don’t have any underwater pictures to prove it, but here’s a link for a taste of our life on board of Princess Haleema during the last season.

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150159406055815.338009.523210814&l=5a9df8c5d2

So what’s next?

Well, Stefano is already back in Italy, trying to get rid of the extra kilo’s he gained over the past few months and enjoying the company of his friends.

I am about to leave for Bali, where I hope to detox and stretch intensively with Darja in Ubud. After that, I join Stefano in Italy for some Italian pampering and then we’re off to Spain for a course of Japanese Taiko drumming in an olive tree farm outside Valencia (yes, you read that right). And then, by the end of July, I’m going to Holland for a yet undetermined period, but I would say at least three weeks.

So, is any one willing to offer me their sofa or guestroom (and at some point Stefano probably too) for a little while? :-)

Hope to see you all soon,

xYx
PS. Happy Father’s Day!

  • 19 Juni 2011 - 19:28

    Alex:

    Hi! Good to hear from you :-) Would be cool to meet up when you are around! We'll keep in touch.

  • 19 Juni 2011 - 20:47

    Mama:

    jajaja,van het ene paradijs in het andere, waar eindigt dit? In het Haagje natuurlijk, want daar is het zo fijn om er bij mooi weer te zijn !
    Haha, tot bij de trommels in Finca Forata, kom nog even tot rust in Bali, want daarna gaat het er weer hard tegenaan, kuskus


  • 20 Juni 2011 - 11:03

    Mir:

    Oh wat gezellig dat je deze kant uit komt!!! En hier is altijd plek voor je!
    XM

  • 20 Juni 2011 - 12:49

    Chantal:

    He Yais, wat hebben jullie hard gewerkt dit jaar! Je bent meer dan welkom in Amsterdam! X Chantal

  • 20 Juni 2011 - 15:03

    LadySKO:

    How very rude of me to not be back in NL to ensure that you both have your room .... apologies must speak with the owner ... oh shit. LOL enjoy new toys and time off well deserved.... i have pictures that prove it was AMAZING party and oh some ok dives... few mantas, few sharks, few times that i was held in place to take said picture by Snuff or Yaisa :)

    Have Fun Miss and big Snuffs and good stretches.

  • 20 Juni 2011 - 15:22

    Iris:

    Ha Yais - more than welcome in our casa. Guestroom en badkamer beschikbaar en een klein meisje dat jou graag eens ziet! :-)

  • 20 Juni 2011 - 19:17

    Anjo:

    Leuk!

  • 22 Juni 2011 - 05:08

    Jose:

    Hmmm... En Valencia no, pero puedes quedarte en mi estudio de Granada si te apetece visitarla. Yo estoy en el pueblo, pero me gustaria verte cuando estes por aqui; dame un toque cuando llegues y quedamos. Suerte con todo ;-)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Singapore, Singapore

Life Travels III

About diving, yoga and travelling...

Recente Reisverslagen:

06 November 2012

whereisyaisanow.com

05 September 2012

Blog, Blogger, Bloggest!

14 Juli 2012

The sounds of Ubud

19 Juni 2012

New Moon

13 Juni 2012

Back in Bali!
Yaisa

wonen, werken, leven, genieten overal en nergens

Actief sinds 14 Nov. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 176
Totaal aantal bezoekers 78591

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Mei 2008 - 16 September 2010

Life Travels II

24 November 2006 - 24 Mei 2008

Life Travels I

17 September 2010 - 30 November -0001

Life Travels III

Landen bezocht: