Travel itches & butterflies - Reisverslag uit El Gouna, Egypte van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu Travel itches & butterflies - Reisverslag uit El Gouna, Egypte van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu

Travel itches & butterflies

Door: Yaisa

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yaisa

05 September 2009 | Egypte, El Gouna


Oh yes, I’m almost off again! Not that I’m dying to leave El Gouna, on the contrary, it’s been a great summer with great diving and great company. See for yourself by clicking on the following links for pictures:

Underwater pictures, August 2009
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=133541&id=523210814&l=9032870d78

Bowling in Hurghada, August 2009
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=136817&id=523210814&l=3c246dcb86

But home is where the heart is... and that just happens to be Italy right now! Fortunately, Italy is able to travel to Holland too, so in less than 48 hours I will be home...

And as usual, these last few days before departure are the time that the travel itch reaches its peak. I can’t wait to put my passport in my bag, zip up my trolley and close the door behind me. I’m looking forward to the buzz at the terminal. I love airports. For me, they are the symbol of having the world at my doorstep. I love flying. Being of a respectable Asian length, I can easily cuddle up in any airplane’s seat, listen to my favourite songs on my MP3 and sleep like a baby. Or watch a box office hit I’ve missed because I’ve been living in the desert (although I hear they will be screening the latest Harry Potter soon here in El Gouna, which is impressively fast after the release!). I love waving my Dutch passport at the immigration officer, as it allows me into pretty much any country I want. I just love travelling to anywhere.

And on this occasion, I’m going back to my home country. I’m mouthwatering at the idea of all the subtle, refined Dutch delicacies that I’m going to taste again soon. I’m smiling broadly at the thought of seeing all my friends and family. I’m picturing myself on the back of a bike, Stefano cycling me around Amsterdam, swerving around trams and tram rails... No, in retrospect, strike that. I think I’ll do the cycling.

But first and foremost, I’m dreaming of jumping into his arms again and getting a never ending big warm hug. He left seven weeks ago, so it’s time for some real life TLC again! And then of course, it’s the traditional driving around Holland and meeting up with 15 people in one day to catch up with everybody. We have only one week... So hereby, almost traditionally, an open invitation to all of you who are in the neighbourhood - Amsterdam of course, where else - and have no plans for coming Friday night (11 September). Come for a drink at Barça, Heinekenplein!

Then it’s off to Milano, where it will be my turn to be introduced to Stefano’s home town. I’m mouthwatering at the idea of all the delicious home cooked pasta’s and pizza’s. I’m smiling broadly at the thought of me trying to speak Italian with all his friends and family. I’m picturing myself climbing the Duomo of Milano, my camera in one hand, a gelato in the other. No, in retrospect, strike that. I can’t take pictures with a melting ice cream in my hand....

Anyway, we will try our best to see everybody in Holland, but I apologize beforehand if we don’t make it through the whole list... And ah, yes... I know you all sent me pictures and birth cards of your babies, but I think nitrogen bubbles and baby names don’t go well together in the same brain. So to save me from some embarrassment, please somehow, casually, mention the name of your (of course the prettiest, smartest, cutest, sweetest) baby before you put him/her in my arms... And to avoid any misunderstandings, if it’s not clear from the name that it’s a boy or a girl, it would also help if you would dress him in blue and her in pink. I’m sorry about this, but don’t tell me I didn’t warn you...

So while the travel itches and farfalle are eating me up, I say good bye, hope to see you soon and if I don’t, see you in Gouna later???

  • 04 September 2009 - 22:18

    Mama:

    je zit al met een been in het vliegtuig, dus tot bijna !

  • 04 September 2009 - 22:19

    TT:

    See you soon ????

  • 05 September 2009 - 09:00

    Jose (Mozambique):

    :-)))))

    Me pasa lo mismo con los hijos de mis amigos!! Y con los dias anteriores al viaje (aunque no este tan comodo en los aviones...). No puedo asegurar que vaya, pero voy a buscar vuelos baratos para Ams el 11. Un beso!!

  • 05 September 2009 - 19:04

    Anjo:

    "refined Dutch delicacies".
    Refined :-)

  • 06 September 2009 - 12:08

    Alex:

    Tot dinsdag :-)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Egypte, El Gouna

Yaisa

wonen, werken, leven, genieten overal en nergens

Actief sinds 14 Nov. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 119
Totaal aantal bezoekers 78624

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Mei 2008 - 16 September 2010

Life Travels II

24 November 2006 - 24 Mei 2008

Life Travels I

17 September 2010 - 30 November -0001

Life Travels III

Landen bezocht: