The colours of my Singapore - Reisverslag uit Singapore, Singapore van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu The colours of my Singapore - Reisverslag uit Singapore, Singapore van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu

The colours of my Singapore

Door: Yaisa

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yaisa

21 Mei 2008 | Singapore, Singapore

******
Welcome to first time visitors of this blog!

In case you don't read Dutch:
- If you want to receive an email alert in the future when I post a new story, type your email address in the 4th portlet (sorry, technical jargon, need to leave this job) in the left column and click "Aanmelden".
- I don't always send out a general email alert when I post a new blog, but if you regret receiving all my spam, just wait for the next email alert and then click on the link at the bottom of the email to unsubscribe.
- If you want to browse through previous posts, click on the link "Alle berichten" in the 3rd portlet in the left column.
- And if you want to comment, please don't refrain and post your name and message in the fields below the blog and click on "Plaats reactie".

Thanks & enjoy!
******

"I think it pisses God off when you walk by the color purple in a field and don't notice it."
(Margaret Avery as Shug, in The Color Purple, 1985)

I have a new favourite colour... It's a very strange thing to realise and probably very silly to write about. But as far back as I can remember, dark brown has always been my favourite. And now - I know since when, but don't know why - I've changed to purple. And not just one kind of purple. No, I like the whole range; from the fresh bubbly lila that makes me feel happy and light, to the deep, dark, regal purper for my pensive and dreamy moods. As I said, a bizar change in preferences... But becoming aware of this shift in colour preference also made me think more about colours in general.

So I started compartmentalising my memories of Singapore in colours and here is a part of my collection:

* Bright orange of course, is the colour of my Dragonboat team, symbolising pain, sweat, winning, losing, teamwork, but above all, having lots and lots of fun and getting very, very wet...

* Pale orange is Villa Marina, where I lived for a year and where my Singapore adventure started. The secludedness of the location, the beautiful pool, the orange flowers... and of course, many memories shared with Timmo.

* Pink is my current neighbourhood. It's the neon light of the Karaoke Bar (special services included) at the corner of my street. Geylang is full of life, just the way I love it.

* Blue is definitely the taxi's... I've seen much of Singapore through the windows of these blue cabs, enjoyed their comfort and had many interesting conversations with their owners.

* Red is the buddhist temple in China Town, beautiful in it's overwhelming gold and red extravangaza and the thousands of little and big buddha's along the walls...

* Green is the reflection in the windows of One Raffles Quay, my office building, when standing outside. Light to dark green, depending on the weather, reflecting the surroundings in a Picasso-like manner in it's thousands of glass panes.

* Black cannot be anything other than the Black Pepper Crabb of course... no additional explanation needed!

* Grey is the blanket that drapes the city when it rains heavily... The showers turn everything and everybody grey, except for the colourful umbrella's that pop up everywhere.

* White symbolises the hotels in Singapore, especially the old colonial ones, like the Raffles or the Fullerton. But also the many hotels I've stayed in around the region, with their crisp white bedsheets (as already observed by lady SKO in one of my Facebook pictures... ;-) ) and the spotless uniforms of their staff.

And so I have many many more colourful memories...

Then I found this, on colour symbolism: http://www.hauntedhamilton.com/4psychology.html

Brown
The colour of Mother Earth, brown brings a sense of stability, alleviating insecurity. However, it also relates to bottling up of emotion, a retreat from and a fear of the outside world, and also narrow-mindedness. This often results from a lack of self-worth.

Indigo, Violet, and Purple
[...] These colours balance the mind and also help transform obsessions and fears. [...] They are also connected with artistic and musical impulses, mystery, and sensitivity to beauty and high ideals, stimulating creativity, inspiration, sensitivity, spirituality, and compassion. Violet can exert strong psychic influences, however, and a person attracted by it has to guard against living in a fantasy world. [...]

So basically I've transformed from a narrow-minded insecure individual to somebody living in a fantasy world... Way to go girl... ;-)

Anyway, here's a large collection of pictures to go with the memories... go for it at your own sweet leisure!

The colours of my Singapore
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=39932&l=d1348&id=523210814

Dinners and other stuff
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=39924&l=a7afc&id=523210814

Relaxing at Pulau Dayang - no diving pictures, didn't want to take my brand new camera on the boat... ;-)
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=39920&l=69225&id=523210814

Wishing you a colourful week (or life rather, why limit it?)

xYx

  • 20 Mei 2008 - 22:07

    SKO:

    Nice one - purple is the new colour of hte season... so i was told in australia... though who knows which season they are on ... so there should be loads of purple stuff to re-invigorate that wardrobe .... though for your next job maybe just consider purple bikini's

    BTW - amber - the many beers i drank when on holiday in singapore trying to cool down (that is my excuse and i am sticking to it god darn it).

    Champagne - because only champagne has that colour and we just love all things bubbles.

  • 21 Mei 2008 - 10:31

    Mama:

    purple is de kleur van de zevende chakra, de hoofd-chakra
    hou ze alle zeven in ere dan blijf je in balans!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Singapore, Singapore

Yaisa

wonen, werken, leven, genieten overal en nergens

Actief sinds 14 Nov. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 280
Totaal aantal bezoekers 78636

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Mei 2008 - 16 September 2010

Life Travels II

24 November 2006 - 24 Mei 2008

Life Travels I

17 September 2010 - 30 November -0001

Life Travels III

Landen bezocht: