Pulau Tioman - Reisverslag uit Kuala Lumpur, Maleisië van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu Pulau Tioman - Reisverslag uit Kuala Lumpur, Maleisië van Yaisa Nio - WaarBenJij.nu

Pulau Tioman

Door: Yaisa

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yaisa

30 Juli 2007 | Maleisië, Kuala Lumpur

Dear all,

Thanks for your recordbreaking number of reactions on the previous log!!! Timmo may not be the most loyal blogger, but he was quite chuffed with all his birthday wishes! I'll make sure he writes one of the next stories so that he can thank you all himself!

But let me tell you about the wonderful long weekend we just had! As said, last week Pieter & Odeth arrived in Singapore with their little daughter Sterre. After celebrating Timmo's birthday with the Dutchies, we left for Pulau Tioman, a Malaysian island just north of Singapore.

Coincidentally, I discovered that I was on Tioman exactly 10 years ago as well... It was when Timmo and I had just kissed for the very first time and I then took off for a five week holiday in Malaysia, first with my dad's family, followed by a backpacking trip with Kaat... The day of Timmo's birthday, we just arrived on Tioman and being mobilephone-less at the time, I remember calling him from the guesthouse's reception... How weird is that hey?

Anyway, 10 years later, here we are again. I had decided to go primitive for old times sake, so we checked into these cheap cabins on Salang Beach (yes, same beach Kaat!) which turned out to have no warm water... That would not have been so bad, had the weather been like it's supposed to be on a tropical island. Unfortunately, it was a bit rainy and therefore the cold shower was a bit less romantic that I had envisaged... And Sterre definitely did not see the charm of it... so I must really apologise to her one day, when she's old enough to understand what I did to her... ;-)

The cold (rain)showers notwithstanding, we had a lovely weekend. Here's my top-3 of the weekend

1) Great company: spending time with Pieter & Odeth, who must be the most relaxed parents I've ever seen, was great and their little one, Sterre, is a cutie and was extremely easy going... (no, no, no bio-clock ticking yet girls!)

2) Diving!!! Yeeehah!!! At last, it was more than a year ago that I got my last diving fix, so I was really looking forward to this trip. Pieter decided to do a Discover Scuba and was immediately hooked. So he joined me on the second divetrip as well, whilst Timmo went on a trek over the island with Odeth and Sterre. The diving was good (not as great as the Red Sea, Darja!) and I spotted a juvenile Harlequin Sweetlips!!! And proud of it too! Those who dive will know how it feels... ;-) No pictures to prove it though, as we didn't have an underwater camera.

3) The food!! Fresh barbecued fish everyday, mmmm, what else can I wish for! And of course lots of beers (Pieter's favourite) and fruit shakes (Timmo's favourite). Life on a tropical island is really good...

But what would a weekend with Pieter & Odeth be without some physical exercise? So off we went on day two, on a little hiking tour... my god, I must have lost half of my body weight in sweat climbing that mountain, but who am I to complain? Pieter was carrying Sterre on his back all the way for more than an hour... But it was worth it, because we arrived at an almost deserted beautiful bay, were we cooled down in the sea and enjoyed the stillness... Unfortunately, we did have to climb all the way back and down and the result for me was a pair of trousers with lots of mud on the backside... ;-) And my legs have been wobbly since...

So aside from the fact that between the five of us we must have fed half the mosquito population of Tioman and I on my own must have fed the entire sand fleas population of Salang Beach for four days in a row (remember Mui Ne, Nien?), it was a fantastic break from our long working days...

Anyway, I'll let the pictures speak for themselves, for us it's off to bed now so I bid you all a very good week and hope to welcome more of you very soon, so that we can discover the wonders of Asia together!

http://www.kodakgallery.nl/I.jsp?c=emj2ryp.51zxeedx&x=0&y=-f5lp0d

Lots of love,

Timmo and Yaisa

  • 30 Juli 2007 - 15:13

    Katelijne:

    Ohhhh,nostalgie!!!!!! Ben benieuwd of Salang Beach nog beetje lijkt op mijn herinnering?! Njoy the good life!

    x Kaat

  • 30 Juli 2007 - 15:15

    Katelijne:

    PS heb je de chickendance nog gedaan? ;-)

  • 30 Juli 2007 - 15:35

    Henk:

    Timmo, je begrijpt zeker wel dat wij nu van jou verwachten dat je iedereen gaat feliciteren die jou via de weblog met jouw 32e verjaardag heeft gefeliciteerd.

    Succes ermee,

    Henk

  • 30 Juli 2007 - 20:22

    Ben:

    Jullie begrijpen toch wel dat we nu WEER op bezoek willen komen ;-) ??

    Jullie omgeving compenseert volledig dat beetje regen waarover je schrijft. Hier in 020 hebben we ook regen, maar ik kijk 40 uur per week uit op de BIJLMER (hoe anders is dat?!).

    Foto;s zijn trouwens ook herkenbaar. Appartement, zwembad, Timmo met een stinkvrucht... Hahaha, leuk hoor! Geniet er maar lekker van allemaal!

    Groetjes van Ben en Yv

  • 31 Juli 2007 - 08:45

    Mama:

    whaoh, heerlijk dat jullie overal om je heen verschillende soorten paradijs hebt! je ziet er weer een jaar jonger uit Timmo! geniet ze!

  • 06 Augustus 2007 - 12:47

    Maria:

    Bedankt voor je nogmaals geweldige verhaal. Het is zo fantastish om mee te mogen genieten zelfs als ik hier achter mijn bureau zit in het regenachtige Adam. Ik wens jou en Timmo het allerbeste toe.

    PS Kijk wel erg uit naar het verhaal van Timmo. Ik neem aan dat hij beseft dat de verwachtingen nu hoog gespannen zijn ;-)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Maleisië, Kuala Lumpur

Yaisa

wonen, werken, leven, genieten overal en nergens

Actief sinds 14 Nov. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 81
Totaal aantal bezoekers 78668

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Mei 2008 - 16 September 2010

Life Travels II

24 November 2006 - 24 Mei 2008

Life Travels I

17 September 2010 - 30 November -0001

Life Travels III

Landen bezocht: